Skip to main content

Our Model

On July 1, 2018, Bishop Michael Barber formally established the Lumen Christi Academies, a new network consisting of six parish schools: Queen of All Saints, Concord; St. Anthony, Oakland, St. Catherine of Siena, Martinez; St. Elizabeth, Oakland; St. Paul, San Pablo; and St. Peter Martyr, Pittsburg.

Much insight was drawn from contacting national Catholic educators and innovative, new school networks across the country before developing a framework for a separate school network that would have an executive director that reported to a governing board.

Common themes among modern Catholic school networks include a transition to a new governance model, academic innovation, efficient operations and sustained investment in the professional development of teachers and principals. Those concepts are being vigorously applied to Lumen Christi Academies.